Recommendations to Members of Group
The Recommendations section for groups allows you to make recommendations to members of this group.
This is accessed via:
It is available only to group administrators with Session Access & Recommend permission.
Each user with a recommendation will get:
- A single email indicating one or more recommendations have been made. (Recommendations are grouped and emails are sent only few times each day, so if you make multiple recommendations, the user will only get a single email.)
- An entry on their Dashboard with details about the recommendation: (who, what, why)
Mentors who are recommended receive no notice of any kind.
Using the Add Recommendation Form
- For whom?
You make a recommendation by indicating who this is for. Start typing and
the platform will provide a list of possible matches. Select a user, or type All Group Members
to make the recommendation to all current (and future) group members.
Making a recommendation to All will apply only to users who are direct members of this group. (Users who are members of a parent group, or child group will not be notified: You'll have to make separate recommendations if that's what you'd like to do.)
- Your recommendation must include either a Mentor, a Mentor's Topic, or a Taxonomy Category. As with the previous field, start typing in one of the three fields and the platform will provide a selection list.
- You many include some information as to why you're making this recommendation. This note will be available to all the people you've listed under "For Whom?", but will not be visible to the Mentors you've listed under "What?" (Unless your Mentor is included in the former listed group.)
Using the Recommendations You've Made List
Previously made recommendations are listed at the bottom of the page in a sortable table.
Clicking on an existing recommendation will update the form with the existing information. This allows you to easily duplicate recommendations, updating only the "Who?" field to apply it to a new person. Alternatively, simply change the "Why?" text to keep the same recommendation but edit your reason for the recommendation.
indicates the recommendation has been completed by the user (only applicable for recommendations made to specific users as opposed to All.)
You can also Delete recommendations.
Site administrators can make recommendations to anyone. See Recommendations to Users.